poplachart.blogg.se

Where was mlk i have a dream speech
Where was mlk i have a dream speech







where was mlk i have a dream speech

How far, or close, are we to achieving your father’s dream? I believe it was October or November, and he was mobilizing for the Poor People’s Campaign, which was supposed to be an event to bring together poor blacks, poor whites, poor Native Americans, poor Latino and Hispanic Americans, Americans from all walks of life, to say to our policymakers in Washington that we demand the right to decent jobs and decent pay. The last experience was in 1967, just a few months before he was killed. I had the opportunity with my brother to travel with my father probably seven or eight times. And, interestingly enough, he did several iterations of “I Have a Dream” before delivering the version he gave on Aug. I do remember having the opportunity to travel with Dad and see him in the context of his work. What I do not remember, unfortunately, is when he delivered this incredible message for our nation and world. I remember quite a few things because I was 10 years old when my father was killed. What do you remember most about your father? The conversation has been edited and condensed for clarity. King remembers his father’s message and his legacy. His son Martin Luther King III has shared his reflections on the “ I Have a Dream” speech to mark the anniversary. stood before hundreds of thousands of people in the nation’s capital to talk about his dream of peace and justice.

where was mlk i have a dream speech

For more coverage of race, sign up here to have our Race/Related newsletter delivered weekly to your inbox.įifty-six years ago today, the Rev.









Where was mlk i have a dream speech